Select Language :

National Emergency Operation Center

Home » Introduction



Brief Introduction
The National Emergency Operations Centre (NEOC) was opened on the 17 December 2010, by the Minister of Home Affairs and is operated under the Planning and Special Services Division. It has been running by a nine-member personnel team under the leadership of under-secretary.
The NEOC is a standalone pre fabricated building situated on the Ministry of Home Affairs premises in Singha Durbar. The building has been built to earthquake standards and is completely self contained, including multiple back up power supplies. The NEOC's working time is round o' clock during the disaster period and never sleeps to get information.

Objective of the NEOC
The NEOC is a coordination and communication point for disaster information across Nepal, including government agencies and other response and recovery stakeholders such as Nepal Red Cross Society, UN agencies, INGOS and NGOs.

District Emergency Operation Center
As part of MoHA’s strategy further develop Nepal’s emergency preparedness and response capacity, it is planning to establish district emergency operation centres (DEOCs) in all 75 districts. Till end of October 2014  DEOCs have been established in the following 42 districts :

1. Jhapa 2. Sunsari 3. Morang 4. Sankhuwasabha 5. Saptari 6. Dhanusha 7. Mahottari 8. Sarlahi 9. Dolakha 10. Sindhupalchowk 11. Kavrepalanchowk 12. Dhading 13. Chitwan 14. Bara 15. Nawalparasi 16. Arghakhanchi 17. Kaski 18. Baglung 19. Mustang 20. Syangja 21. Jumla 22. Rukum 23. Banke 24. Kailali 25. Accham 26. Dadeldhura 27. Taplejung 28. Ilam 29. Khotang 30. Siraha 31. Ramechhap 32. Parsa 33. Rautahat 34. Palpa 35. Lamjung 36. Kapilbastu 37. Parbat 38. Bardiya 39. Dailekh 40. Dang 41. Jajarkot 42. Kanchanpur

: 2014-10-28